16th Annual Freedom Award Honoree

The Board of Directors of De Paul Treatment Centers is pleased to announce that Richard “Dick” Withnell is being honored as the 2015 Sam Wheeler Freedom Award recipient. The Sam Wheeler Freedom Award is presented to a member of the community who openly shares their story of addiction recovery and dedicates their time, resources, and energy to helping people struggling with a substance use disorder.

Dick Withnell

Richard “Dick” Withnell

Past recipients include the late state Senators Ben Westlund and Lenn Hannon, the late Sam Wheeler of the Wheeler Foundation, Izzy’s restaurant co-founder Izzy Covalt, Ann Miller, Dr. James Thayer, Jack Hopkins of NW Medical, Dr. Marvin Seppala, The Loyola Men’s Group, Ken and Joan Austin, Dennis Doherty, Nancy Engeman, John Kroger, Mark O’Donnell, and Bill Dickey.

Dick will be honored at the Freedom Award Luncheon on September 24, 2015 at the Sentinel Hotel. Funds raised at this important luncheon are used to support De Paul’s Youth and Family Treatment Center which helps youth ages 13-18 achieve freedom from addiction and lead healthy, productive lives.

To purchase tickets, tables or sponsorship information for the event, please visit depaultreatmentcenters.org/events or contact Stephanie Hooper at 503-535-1172.