Freedom Awards Nomination Form

De Paul Treatment Centers Freedom Awards’ is an annual celebration of recovery that honors community members who work to end the stigma of addiction through support, advocacy and sharing their stories.

The Samuel C. Wheeler Freedom Award is presented to members of the community who help battle the stigma of addiction by openly sharing their story of recovery and giving back to the community in meaningful ways.

Addiction is not fought alone: recovery demands supportive family and friends, compassionate healthcare providers, social services and community organizations, thoughtful public policy, understanding employers, and fair judicial and law enforcement systems. In the spirit of honoring all who fight this disease, we also honor those who support and make recovery possible in our community.

Past award recipients include: Sam Wheeler, state Senators Ben Westlund and Lenn Hannon, Izzy Covalt, Ann Miller, Dr. James Thayer, Jack Hopkins, Dr. Marvin Seppala, The Loyola Men’s Group, Ken and Joan Austin, Dennis Doherty, Nancy Engeman, John Kroger, Mark O’Donnell, Bill Dickey, Dick Withnell, Mary Monnat, Jay Minor, Pam Pearce, Harry Wilson, the Baker Family & Friends, Judge Amy Holmes Hehn, Devarshi Bajpai, and Monta Knudson.

Nominations are due by June 28th. 

Do you know someone who should be recognized for their support of the recovery community?